The late Roy Gardner was born in Lawrenceburg in 1919 and spent 34 years working in the Batesville school system.  A math teacher at Batesville, he also served as head basketball, track, baseball, and golf coach in various stints, with his teams capturing numerous championships.  As an official Gardner worked the 1955, 1956, and 1959 state finals and officiated in the Big Ten from 1959-1969.  He also worked the 1968 and 1969 East-West College All-Star games at Hinkle Fieldhouse.  Gardner passed away in 1977 and each year since 1978 the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association presents the Roy Gardner Award to the outstanding high school basketball official in Indiana.  He was inducted in the Ball State Athletics Hall of Fame in 1981 and the Ripley County Basketball Hall of Fame in 2003

Roy Gardner Men’s Official of the Year (Complete Historical List Below)



Official Hometown/School
1978 Lowell Smith Palmyra
1979 Wayne VanSickle Richmond
1980 Troy Ingram Richmond
1981 Jerry Larrison Indianapolis
1982 John Lozier Logansport
1983 Rich Boer Gary
1984 Jim Wehsollek Alexandria
1985 Jerry Petro Franklin
1986 Roger DeYoung Hebron
1987 Jesse Lynch Indianapolis
1988 Bob Marcinek East Chicago
1989 Melvn Redmond Mt. Vernon
1990 Steve Cherry Pendleton
1991 No Award  
1992 Richard Cook Michigan City
1993 Jim Cox Jonesboro
1994 Mike Bohan Brownsburg
1995 Bill Wullner Lawrenceburg
1996 Bob Beeson Elkhart
1997 Jerry Cook Elkhart
1998 Norm Hathcoat Pendleton
1999 Steve Fisher North Posey
2000 Rick Owens Lynn
2001 Larry Maxwell Martinsville
2002 Larry Jones Logansport
2003 Bill Nimnicht Evansville
2004 Jimmy Dimitroff Indianapolis
2005 Gary Leistner Dubois
2006 Ken Gorrell Southwestern/Ball State
2007 Jerry Taylor Lafayette
2008 James Dunlap Decker Chapel (S.Knox)
2009 Don Nester Cathedral Graduate
2010 Larry Nixon Western Indiana
2011 Mark Baltz Ohio University
2012 Bob Anderson Walter Johnson HS (MD)- Purdue
  Ray Tebbe Batesville HS – Ball State
2013 Mike Waisnora Munster – Purdue
2014 Terry Magnuson LaVille – Butler
2015 Rex Nichols Mooresville
2016 Jason Ferguson Columbus
2017 Tom Rohr Montezuma
2018 Tom Walters Indianapolis
2019 Mike Eason Cumberland